Contact: Suzanne Thompson Cozza 901-550-5509

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Drive Through Voter Registration Events Scheduled Sept. 25 and 29

Shelby County Election Commission

Sept. 20, 2018 (Memphis, Tenn.) In commemoration of National Voter Registration Day, Sept. 25, the Shelby County Election Commission (SCEC) is holding Drive Thru Voter Registration Events in several parks throughout the Mid-South. Hours and locations are listed below.

The idea is that people won't have to get out of their cars to register to vote. There will be a lane inside the parking areas in each park and once a car reaches the front of the line, SCEC employees will be ready to hand the driver a voter registration application. After filling out the application and signing it, the driver can simply hand it back to an SCEC representative and hit the road.

People can expect their registration cards to arrive by mail. Remember, it's not necessary to present a voter registration card at the polls. The card lists helpful information like your precinct and polling locations and which city or county district your address is assigned, to make it easy for you to research candidates who want to represent you in government.

For those who can't make it on Tuesday, SCEC will be back in the parks on Saturday, Sept. 29 from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The hours of operation coincide with Early Voting polling location hours. Early voting for the Nov. 6 State, Federal and Election starts on Oct. 17.

Parks with Drive Thru Registration	9/25/18 – 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.
	9/29/18 – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Audubon Park – Poplar/Perkins – Enter from Perkins Road (East Memphis) Charjean Park – 2601 Ketchum Rd. (South Memphis) Douglass Park – 1616 Ash Rd. (Southwest Memphis) Heroes Park – 4580 Riverdale Rd. (Hickory Hill) Johnson Road Park – 2970 Johnson Road (Germantown) Polly Williams Park – 3888 Auburn Rd. (North Memphis) Oakhaven Park – 3875 Bishops Bridge Rd. (Whitehaven)

###

157 Poplar Avenue, Suite 137* Memphis, TN 38103-1948 980 Nixon Drive * Memphis, TN 38134-7966 Phone: 901.222.1200 * Fax: 901.222.6811 * ShelbyVote.com Robert D. Meyers *Chairman* Norma Lester *Secretary* Dee Nollner Steve Stamson Anthony Tate *Members*

Linda A. Phillips Administrator

Joe Wm.Young II Deputy Administrator

