

SHELBY COUNTY ELECTION COMMISSION SPECIAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES

April 12, 2023

The special organizational meeting of the Shelby County Election Commission was held on April 12, 2023, at the O.C. Pleasant, Jr. Election Operations Center, 980 Nixon Drive, at 4:00pm. This meeting was recorded on Facebook live.

MEETING CALLED TO ORDER: By Mark Luttrell at 4:00pm.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

COMMISSIONERS PRESENT CONSTITUTING A QUORUM: Commissioners Kimbrow, Luttrell, Stamson, Uhlhorn, and Wharton

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

Linda Phillips, AOE

Joe Young, DAOE

Judge Tarik Sugarmon

Bennie Smith, TN Commissioner

A.C. Warton

Monica Wharton

Jacob Swatley, Attorney

Monice Hagler, Attorney

Will Brantley, Attorney

Deborah Upchurch, Staff

Sherry Hewlett, Staff

Ron Boozer, Staff

Maya Brown, KQ

Suzanne Thompson, KQ

Sandra Oates

Rose Ann Bradley

Carole Van Vossen

Charlotte Bergmann

Cherie Pyron

SWEARING IN OF 2023-2025 TERM OF COMMISSIONERS:

Judge Tarik Sugarmon conducted Oath of Office.

Welcoming of Commissioner Andre Wharton.

Presentation to Commissioner Smith acknowledging his service to the SCEC.

MOTION TO ELECT CHAIRMAN AND SECRETARY FOR THE 2023-2025 TERM:

MOTION: Motion by Commissioner Stamson to election Mark Luttrell as Chairman and

Commissioner Kimbrow as Secretary.

SECONDED BY: Commissioners Uhlhorn and Wharton.

ROLL CALL VOTE: Motion carries unanimously.

RECESS FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Recess 4:19pm; Reconvene at 5:25pm.

ATTORNEY'S REPORT:

Attorney Swatley reported that the Election Commission has four active litigation matters; a lawsuit filed by Marion Latroy Alexander-Williams, Jr., an election challenge filed by Charlotte Bergmann, lawsuits filed by Floyd Bonner and Van Turner, which have been consolidated, regarding the question of City of Memphis Mayoral residency requirements.

SCEC MEETING SCHEDULE:

Discussion on new SCEC meeting schedule. New schedule to be posted to website.

ADMINISTRATOR'S REPORT:

Due to vacancy in TN House of Representatives, District 86, there will be a Special Primary and General Election. Currently waiting for the Governor to issue a Writ of Election. Date of Writ starts the process of the election cycle. Governor will select election date per TCA § 2-14-202.

ADJOURNMENT:

Adjournment Motion by Commissioner Stamson at 5:38pm.

Mark Luttrell, Jr., Chairman

Vanecia Kimbrow, Secretary

OATH FOR ELECTION COMMISSIONERS

(Officiant) Please raise your right hand and repeat after me.

I, (State Your Name), do solemnly swear (affirm) that I will support the Constitution and the laws of the United States of America and the Constitution and the laws of the state of Tennessee and that I will faithfully and impartially discharge the duties of the office of Election Commissioner.

Mark Luttrell

Vanecia Kimbrow

Steve Stamson

Andre Wharton

Frank Uhlhorn

This oath was administered by the Honorable Tarik Sugarmon on April 12, 2023.

Sand B. Jugarmon